Jewelry stories

I first made jewelry from precious metal clay in June of 2011. I knew from opening the first package of clay that this was something I would enjoy so much that I was going to have to remember to stop and sleep. I was in love with the possibilities, the idea that the only restrictions on what could be made were the limits to what my hands could create. Into the kiln the fragile little pieces would go, and out would emerge a permanent, real-life piece of fine silver. It felt like magic. It still does!

My favorite evenings are still those when jewelry is the only thing on the agenda. My work is inspired by shapes and textures in nature, as animals are my first and forever muses, and I take custom requests, the best of which join the permanent offerings of the shop. Some of the most inspired ideas come from clients.

One of my favorite parts of selling jewelry is that people so often tell me for whom they are ordering gifts. This is such a joyful and interesting part of the process. Jewelry can be beautiful, quirky or dramatic, but we wear it for how it makes us feel and the significance it carries. One pendant, a mountain goat, was commissioned as a good luck charm for a future climber of Everest. Another, a tiny plane, was to be a gift for a friend who had just earned her pilot’s wings.

And we love them too when we buy them for ourselves. One of my favorite pieces are a pair of black jade stud earrings that I found in a tiny gallery in Antigua, Guatemala. Jade comes in many colors, each of which has a different “power,” and black is meant to guard against negative forces or entities. I call them my power earrings, because of how I feel when I wear them… powerful! Another favorite piece is a large sterling silver ring that I purchased for myself as I was becoming a single woman for the first time in my adult life. It was tumultuous time that turned out to be the beginning of many significant changes. My power ring! And of course, also the ring that symbolizes that I will soon be married to the love of my life. It is a beautiful ring (picked out by the man himself) but the meaning makes it a big deal.

So I’ve started this blog to document those stories, and other shiny odds and ends. I make jewelry, and I love to hear your jewelry stories.

Tagged , ,

I'd love to hear from you.

