In the Works… Chile Pepper Earrings!

Yesterday we went to Brooklyn Botanic Garden’s Chile Pepper Fiesta. What a fun event! I’m a low-spice person, but there was plenty even for my type to eat, and much to see, too. I learned about the Ghost Pepper and Trinidadian Scorpion Pepper. Don’t those names make you want to stop everything and go find some for lunch? On a design note, there was some great, creative work among the food packaging.

The day before we went, as I was getting pumped to go, I had an inspired idea… chile pepper jewelry! Oh, yes. Funky spicy bling. I’d like to make that happen. So yesterday, among the abundant tents of free samples of hot sauce, pickles, mayo, kimchi, spicy honey and more than a dozen varieties of chocolate (oh, my tummy) I kept an eye out for the right tiny pepper, one that could be recognized by its shape without its vibrant redness. I’m not sure I found the one, but I found a good candidate. It’s on my work desk, and we’re watching each other. We’ll see.

I did find leaves than seemed just right for silver leaves, including ginkgo, and a tiny intact acorn.

More photos of those soon. But now, la fiesta:

I felt bad… I had to spit this candy out! The hottest thing I tried all day. Excuse me while I walk in circles and suck on my tongue for a bit. And this was the “mild one.” The other flavor was “100 times hotter.” Hahahaha. No.

And of course the garden itself is splendid.

There is something magical about these flowers within flowers.

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “In the Works… Chile Pepper Earrings!

  1. Deborah says:

    I wish I could have been there! But I was there in ghost pepper spirit. 🙂 xoxo!

    Like

I'd love to hear from you.

